Some people have it worse, I know, this is just my personal experience.

I started experiencing anxiety when I was about 13. I was a new kid at a new school, no one knew me and I knew no one. I tried to force myself to interact with other girls, but when I approached them and wanted to run away and hide in the bathroom, and making small talk just game out a mumbled jumble of words. I always imagine myself as confident but all that confidence faded away when I was put in that situation. I always over think social interactions, like I was getting ready to visit a dojo I used to go to and I bullied myself to go in and say high. I was even more awkward since the two people who made me feel safe in social interactions were gone. When I went to a family picnic for my dojo, I his in the woods reading a book because being near all these people made me want to curl up on the Cement in fetal position. Social anxiety sometimes holds me back from doing things I want to do, like sing in front of people, or even do anything I’m good at in front of people. It makes reaching out to people hard because I don’t want to annoy the few friends I have. I even feel this way about my best friends.

4 thoughts on “What it’s like to have social anxiety

Leave a Reply

